The John Batley Award

PAISBOA's John Batley Award was established in 1999 to recognize distinguished service to the profession of Business Officers at Independent Schools. Though he was too humble to say so himself, John Batley’s vision 50 years ago led to the founding of what has become PAISBOA. As the first chair of PAISBIG, John helped build a strong health insurance program into a magnet for innovation and entrepreneurship.

John Rehm Batley, Business Manager of Westtown School for 31 years and a driving force in the founding of what would ultimately become PAISBOA, was known, not only for his devotion to Westtown, but for his passion for helping other Business Managers do their job better. Active in civic and religious organizations on the local level as well as in regional and national business officers groups, John was generous with his time and talent. His reputation extended beyond the Friends Schools to any Business Manager who sought his advice and counsel. He shared, with both humor and compassion, his extensive knowledge of this unique job that we all have as Business Officers at independent schools.

He also recognized early the power of working together toward a common goal, and in the summer of 1989 called together a number of his peers to help tackle the rising cost of health care. Taking advantage of a unique opportunity, 54 independent schools banded together to advise their insurance carrier that there needed to be an active, two-way partnership to control the increases in health premiums in the future. Led by John, this initial dialogue developed into the strong relationship we enjoy today.

Bolstered by the success of the health insurance consortium, other group purchasing endeavors were established; these efforts resulted in immeasurable savings of time and literally millions of dollars for the approximately 180 independent schools and colleges in the Delaware Valley that comprise the membership of PAISBOA.

Following his retirement from Westtown, John and his wife Anne settled in Laporte, PA, where he served as mayor and a member of the Borough Council. Until his passing on February 9, 2017, he was an active member of the Sullivan County Library Board, and helped found the Carpenter Cruise, benefitting the Laporte Volunteer Fire Company.

In recognition of John’s role as a leader and mentor, the John Batley Award was established to recognize an individual who best emulates John’s professional ethos and personal commitment to advancing the role and effectiveness of Business Officers at independent schools, and who has made major contributions to PAISBOA’s mission of working together for the greater good.

The 2024 Honoree: Joan Barone, CFO of the PAISBOA Health Benefit Trust

Recipients of the John Batley Award

2024 JOAN BARONE PAISBOA Health Benefit Trust
2023 CAROLYN HAPEMAN Westtown School
2022 CAROL LERNER The Philadelphia School
2021 TOM TAFT Germantown Academy
2020 CHERYL HAMMOND HOPEWELL Friends School Haverford
2019 MARTHA SCACHE Abington Friends School
2018 GAIL CRANE The Quaker School at Horsham
2017 DONALD D. SILVERSON The Hill School
2016 BOB MUELLER Delaware Valley Friends School
2015 JOE VAN BERNUM Overbrook School for the Blind
2014 FRANK ALOISE Springside Chestnut Hill Academy
2013 HAL DAVIDOW William Penn Charter School
2012 MIKE SCHULLER St. Andrew's School – Delaware
2011 BOB CONNOLLY Westtown School
2010 FRANK FRANUS Pennsylvania School for the Deaf 
2009 PEGGY CONVER Chestnut Hill Academy
2008 EMILY MILLER Friends’ Central School
2007 GIL SMITH The Shipley School
2006 BRO. GERRY FRENDREIS LaSalle College High School
2005 CHARLIE JOHNSON St. Joseph’s Preparatory School
2004 MIKE NOONAN Friends Select School
2003 NEIL FANELLI CFS, School at Church Farm
2002 DANA WRIGHT Baldwin School
2001 STEVE KLINE Germantown Friends School
2000 JIM KIRKPATRICK The Hill School
1999 JOHN BATLEY Westtown School